Skip to content

University of Gloucestershire shortlisted for national student choice awards

The University of Gloucestershire has been shortlisted for awards in three major categories in a national ranking based on student opinions.

The University is a top 10 University in the UK for ‘student support’, ‘courses and lecturers’, and ‘postgraduate’, according to the shortlist for the Whatuni Student Choice Awards 2017, announced today (Friday, 3 March).

These rankings mean that the University has risen at least 8 places in the ‘courses and lecturers’ category, and at least 7 places in the ‘student support’ category. The ‘postgraduate’ category is a new for 2017. Whatuni provides the only national university league table based entirely on the opinions of students and recent graduates. The positions are based on averages taken from 27,000 reviews submitted nationwide by students from 130 universities.

Stephen Marston, Vice-Chancellor of the University of Gloucestershire, said: “I am delighted the University of Gloucestershire has received this endorsement from our students. It shows that we are continuing to making excellent progress in our ambition to give students excellent teaching and learning, and a rich and rewarding student experience.

“This week the University launched its Strategic Plan for the next five years which is centred on students and focused on providing highest quality teaching and a breadth of experience that enables them to reach their full potential.”

 “We are particularly pleased that we have performed so well in these three key areas that directly match our core ambitions for our students  –  to provide great student support, to provide great courses taught by excellent lecturers, and to provide a great experience for our expanding number of postgraduate students.

“These results are a terrific endorsement of the skill and dedication of the University’s staff going the extra mile to provide an excellent service for students.”

The official 2017 Whatuni Student Rankings will be announced on 6 April at a ceremony in London.