Psychology (BSc) course map

Profile photo of Di Catherwood

Staff Profile

Di Catherwood

"My research was focused for many years on infant cognition but recently I have studied adult cognition and decision-making in real-world contexts and also in laboratory studies of brain activity. My research has been funded by grants from ESRC, British Academy, Welcome Trust, as well as a MoD Competition of ideas, and recently by an Erasmus Plus grant with colleagues in Fire Services in UK and Europe. My research with the Fire Services examines fireground decision-making and situational awareness and this work has been awarded two research prizes as well as an Emerald Publishing Literati award."

  • Course Leader: Steven Baker

Please note this course map is indicative of the structure of this course and may be subject to change.

Level 4

Module CATs
To complete your programme you must pass the following compulsory modules:
NS4103: Conceptual Issues in Psychology 30
NS4104: Psychology in Everyday Life 30
NS4105: Thinking Like a Psychologist 30
NS4106: Developing Psychological Knowledge 30

Level 5

Level 6

Level 6 Notes: To achieve BPS accreditation for GBC students must pass NS6109, NS6110 and NS6111.

Module CATs
To complete your programme you must pass the following compulsory modules:
NS6109: Cognitive Neuroscience 15
NS6110: Critical Social Psychology 15
NS6111: Psychology Dissertation 30
Other modules that can be counted toward your programme include:
NS6001: Professional Experience 15
NS6103: Occupational Psychology 15
NS6104: Psychology of Gender and Sexuality 15
NS6106: Critical Practice in Psychology 15
NS6108: Working in Forensic Settings 15
NS6112: Applied Cognitive Psychology 15
NS6113: Educational and Child Psychology 15
NS6114: Clinical Psychology 15
NS6116: Health Psychology 15
NS6603: Counselling Models and Approaches 15

What are Course Maps and Module Descriptors?

Course Maps

A course map contains a list of the individual study units, called modules, that you study to complete your course. Some modules are compulsory, but you can sometimes choose modules outside your core area of study which interest you.

Module Descriptors

A module is a self contained, individual unit of study. The Module Descriptor provides various details about the module including who the module tutor is, what you will be studying, how you will be assessed and what you will have learned once you have completed the module.

Course Resources Archive

Course Maps and Module Descriptors from previous years can be found in the Course Resources Archive.