Skip to content

Terms of Reference

Council Terms of Reference

Last updated: 12 February 2024

Council currently comprises 20 members consisting of:

Council, to fulfil its function as the governing body, has created a number of standing committees to assist in its work. By virtue of the Articles of Association, Council itself holds full responsibility for:

(i) the determination of the educational character and mission of the University;

(ii) the approval of the annual estimates of income and expenditure;

(iii) ensuring the solvency of the University and the safeguarding of its assets;

(iv) the appointment or dismissal of the Senior Staff;

(v) the varying or revoking of the Articles of Association of the University;

In addition, Council has also resolved to retain responsibility for a number of other powers as detailed in the Scheme of Delegations and the Statement of Primary Responsibilities.

Full details of Council, its membership and general operation, are available from the Secretary to Council.

Mode of operation

Chair: Appointed by Council

Vice Chair: Elected by Council

Officer: Secretary to Council


The quorum for meetings of the Council shall be 8 Members of Council entitled to vote on the item being discussed of whom more than half shall be External Council Members. In the event that reserved business (as prescribed in Regulations) is to be considered, then the quorum for the meeting of Council shall be seven External Members.

If at the time appointed for a meeting, or during the course of the meeting, sufficient numbers of members of Council to form a Quorum are not present the meeting shall stand adjourned and a Special Meeting may be summoned. Any meeting may be adjourned by resolution.

Frequency of meetings

Six times per year.

Reporting line

Current Sub-Committees

Submission / availability of minutes

Minutes are held by the Secretary to Council, and published on the University website.

MembershipAppointment DatesTerm of Office
External MembersMs I BarkerMar 20 – Feb 28Second term
Mr T ChambersNov 23 – Nov 27First term
Mr J CooperNov 23 – Nov 27First term
Mr P CrichardJul 20 – Jul 24First term
Ms N de Iongh (Chair)May 17 – Sept 27Second term
Ms R DooleyNov 23 – Nov 27First term
Mr C FungMay 17 – May 25Second term
Mr S GardinerJun 20 – Jun 24First term
Mrs P SissonsJun 16 – Jun 24Second term
Ms E SorosJan 21 – Jan 25First term
Mr D SoutterJul 20 – Jun 24First term
The Rt Revd R Springett (Vice-Chair)Jun 16 – Jun 24Second term
Ms J WalklingAug 21 – Jul 25First term
Dr P WarryFeb 20 – Feb 28Second term
Vice-ChancellorMs Clare MarchantEx OfficioN/A
Academic Staff MemberDr L LiveseyNov 22 – Nov 26First term
General Staff MemberMr J SucksmithNov 22 – Nov 26First term
Academic Board MemberVacancy
Student MembersMiss P ArcherJul 23 – Jun 24N/A
Miss I WilliamsJul 23 – Jun 24N/A

Was this article helpful?